The First Annual Dragon Awards

So, some things of note here, while I think of them.

This was mercifully short. It topped out at just UNDER a half hour. I’m surprised they didn’t go out of their way to extend it. Most of the things on the schedule are at least an hour, and we all know how award ceremonies go over. Way, way over.

And if you don’t have time to watch a 30 minute video, the winners are….

Best Science Fiction Novel: Somewhither: A Tale of the Unwithering Realm by John C. Wright

Truly shocking, yes?  No.

Best Fantasy Novel: Son of the Black Sword by Larry Correia

I’m told that Larry and Jim Butcher kept telling their fans to vote for each other. I guess this just means that Jim has more fans, and can be kingmaker if he likes. Seriously, if he can steamroll Larry….

Best Young Adult/Middle Grade Novel: The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett

As Terry died recently, I look upon this one as a lifetime achievement award. My money was on Dave Freer, but he can get another one.

Best Military Science Fiction or Fantasy Novel: Hell’s Foundations Quiver by David Weber

David Weber has been the name in military SF for decades. If he didn’t win this one, I’d be raising an eyebrow. And he won for a Tor novel, no less.

Best Alternate History Novel: League of Dragons by Naomi Novak

I was surprised this won against Turtledove. He is to alternate history what Weber is to military SF in general. But then, Novak just finished her dragon series, so I see this as an award for the series.

Best Apocalyptic Novel: Ctrl Alt Revolt! by Nick Cole

Best Horror Novel Souldancer by Brian Niemeier

I wasn’t shocked. It was such an obvious win that even the publisher Vox Day, when commenting paragraphs on other choices, only said, “Sorry Declan, you’re screwed.”

Best Comic Book: Ms. Marvel

Best Graphic Novel: The Sandman: Overture by Neil Gaiman

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy TV Series: Game of Thrones – HBO

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Movie: The Martian

Is anyone surprised?

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy PC/Console Game: Fallout 4 by Bethesda Softworks

See previous comment.

Best Science Fiction of Fantasy Mobile Game: Fallout Shelter by Bethesda Softworks

See previous comment.

Best Science Fiction of Fantasy Board Game Pandemic: Legacy by ZMan Games

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Miniatures/Collectible Card/Role Playing Game Call of Cthulhu Roleplaying Game (7th edition) by Chaosium Inc

About Declan Finn

Declan Finn is the author of Honor at Stake, an urban fantasy novel, nominated for Best Horror in the first annual Dragon Awards. He has also written The Pius Trilogy, an attempt to take Dan Brown to the woodshed in his own medium -- soon to be republished by Silver Empire Press. Finn has also written "Codename: Winterborn," an SF espionage thriller, and it's follow-up, "Codename: Winterborn." And "It was Only on Stun!" and "Set To Kill" are murder mysteries at a science fiction convention.
This entry was posted in Analysis, Commentary, Fiction, Gaming, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The First Annual Dragon Awards

  1. Pingback: Dragon Award Winners Responses | File 770

  2. Pingback: Dragon Awards Are Live | The Catholic Geeks

Speak now, or forever hold your comment.

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s